Monday, August 20, 2012

Guatemala's 8 Coffee Regions

Guatemala is land of so many and varied microclimates, of such ideal rainfall patterns, of the most majestic and high mountain ranges, of a great diversity of rich soils; that all together they make such combinations as to produce genuine differences in the cup.
Since the early 1990s, we have led a pioneering effort to define the country’s coffee-producing regions based of geographic, climatic, and coffee characteristics and cup profiles.
As a result, eight distinct regions producing Strictly Hard Bean (SHB) quality coffees within defined microclimates have been identified, awarding coffee enthusiast with eight specialty coffees with unique characteristics. Acatenango Valley, Antigua Coffee, Traditional Atitlán, Rainforest Cobán, Fraijanes Plateau, Highland Huehue, New Oriente and Volcanic San Marcos.

No comments:

Post a Comment